Press Club presents annual awards

May 11, 2004 by Scott Jameson

The Syracuse Press Club handed out its annual awards at a dinner on Saturday, May 8.

In the radio division, WSYR, WRVO, WAER, and WHEN all picked up awards. 570 WSYR's assistant news director, Chris Weidman, was also honored with the Selwyn Kershaw Professional Standards Award.Here's the complete list of winners in the radio categories:

Best Radio Human Interest Feature WRVO Mark Lavonier
Fred Vigeant
"Jeremy's Day at the Fair"
Best Radio Spot News Coverage WSYR WSYR Staff "Carrier - The Devastating Announcement"
Best Radio Investigative Story WRVO Skye Rohde "Rural Healthcare"
Best Radio News Feature WSYR Erin Covey "9-11: A Wife Remembered"
Best Radio Sports Story WHEN Brent Axe
Jim Lerch
"Carmelo Leaves for the NBA"
Best Radio Sports Show WAER Jason Horowitz "Countdown to Kickoff"
Best Radio Newscast WSYR Chris Weidman
WSYR Staff
"Blackout Bounceback (8/15/2003; 8:30 AM)"
Best Radio Documentary WSYR WSYR Staff "9-11: Two Years after the Tragedy"
Best Radio Public Affairs WRVO Elizabeth Christensen
WRVO Staff
"Then & Now"
See more posts about:


menu-circlecross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram