ACM Radio Awards Snub B104.7 Again

March 12, 2010 by

SYRACUSE -- They've been nominated time and time again for the Academy of Country Music (ACM) Awards, but still no prize for B104.7 (WBBS) morning co-hosts Tom Owens and Becky Palmer.  Meantime, New Country WOLF 105.1 night host Cody Alan is named "Personality of the Year" on the national level.

The radio awards were announced just today and posted on the ACM website.  Tom & Becky had been nominated for "On-Air Personality of the Year - Medium Market."  That award went to a gentleman from Tucson, Arizona.  The B104.7 morning show has been nominated for the same award for at least three years in a row. (See articles from 20092008.)

Cody Alan was not on the air in Syracuse when the nominees list was released on February 6th -- but his Westwood One show, CMT Live with Cody Alan, made its Syracuse debut when the originally-jockless WOLF added personalities to the mix just two days later.

And an update on former Froggy 97 (WFRY Watertown) and Big Frog 104 (WFRG) programmer/personality Tom Jacobsen -- his current station, WGNA in Albany, did not win either.  It had been nominated for Best Radio Station of the Year, Medium Market.  ACM listed a tie between two stations in Boise, Idaho and Bakersfield, California as the winners.

As the saying goes, "there's always next year."  A tip of the hat to everyone just for being nominated -- as there are only five nominees in each category.


menu-circlecross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram