TV and Radio Among "Best of Syracuse" Winners

September 28, 2011 by

SYRACUSE -- Among TV stations, it was a fairly even split between channels 3 and 9 for the 2011 Best of Syracuse awards. On the radio side, 93Q (WNTQ) is the big winner. The awards were announced in today's edition of the weekly Syracuse NewTimes newspaper.

The awards recognize lots of aspects of life in and around Syracuse... aside from the media, the paper asks readers to rank everything from "best breakfast spot" to "best urban green space."  Most categories are decided by reader votes.

Most of the media awards appear on page 27 of this week's edition, which was released today. NewsChannel 9 (WSYR-TV) personalities Chris Brandolino and Kaylea Nixon won for "Best TV News Hottie" for their respective genders. Across town, Wayne Mahar at CNYCentral (WSTM/WTVH/WSTQ-LP) won the "Best Accurate Meteorologist" category.  For "Best Blog," CNYCentral anchor Matt Mulcahy is the winner for "Matt's Morning Memo."  (Our sincerest thanks to those of you who voted for, though!)

Cumulus Media's 93Q won for "Best Radio Station," while morning hosts Ted Long and Amy Robbins won "Best Local Radio Morning Show."  There were no other radio categories.

On page 28 of the newspaper, an article entitled "Best News Channel to Weigh Anchor" spotlights meteorologist Brandolino's move from channel 3 to channel 9, by way of a two-year stint with the Australian Bureau of Meteorology. The article also recalls how channel 9 scooped up former channel 5 anchor/reporter Keith Kobland in 2009, and more recently, former YNN anchor Tammy Palmer.

The NewTimes is available for free at dozens of locations in and around Syracuse. If you're a Syracuse escapee, you can view a digital version at


menu-circlecross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram