Syracuse Press Club presents radio awards

April 19, 2002 by Scott Jameson

The Syracuse Press Club handed out its annual awards at a dinner on April 16. WSYR and WAER picked up four awards each, while WRVO received three honors.

Here is the complete list of winners in the radio categories...

Best Radio Spot News Coverage WSYR Chris Weidman
Kevin Schenk
WSYR staff
"September 11th, America Under Attack"
Best Radio Investigative Story WSYR Steven Portnoy "Stop the Violence"
Best Radio News Feature WRVO Amy Cavalier "Fairhaven"
Best Radio Human Interest Feature WAER Richard Gardner
Chris Bolt
"Jerry Rescue: Syracuse Fights Slavery"
Best Radio Sports Story WAER Andy Jones "Glickman Remembrance"
Best Radio Sports Show WAER Andy Jones "Halftime Report"
Best Radio Mini-Series WSYR Leila Walsh "Protecting our Children"
Best Radio Newscast WSYR Chris Weidman
WSYR Staff
"September 11th - The Morning After"
Best Radio Documentary WRVO Chris Ulanowski "Bioterrorism"
Best Radio Public Affairs WAER Lorraine Rapp
Linda Lowen
Women’s Voices Staff
"Women’s Voices: Same Sex Education’s Advantages"
Best Radio Special Program WRVO Mark Lavonier "Clinton Square Memorial"

Honorable Mentions

In addition, special mentions in the above categories were awarded to the following people: Tara Howard (WSYR), Adam Levinson (WAER), Kelly O’Donnell (WAER), Chris Ulanowski (WRVO), Leila Walsh (WSYR), Chris Weidman (WSYR), and Scott R. Willis (WAER).

Lifetime Achievement

570 WSYR's news director and director of programming, Bill Carey, was honored with a Bliven-Ganley-Rossi Career Achievement Award.

See more posts about:


menu-circlecross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram