Steve Kroft speaks at Press Club ceremony

November 3, 2002 by Scott Jameson

A who's who of the Syracuse press community was on hand Friday evening for the annual induction ceremony for the Syracuse Press Club's 'Wall of Distinction'. 60 Minutes co-editor Steve Kroft, a Syracuse University graduate and former reporter at channel 3 in the early 70s, gave the keynote address at the event held at the Wyndham Syracuse Hotel. Matt Mulcahy, WTVH TV 5 news anchor and Press Club president, served as master of ceremonies.This year's inductees into the Press Club's 'Wall of Distinction', which is on permanent display in the lobby of the Onondaga County Civic Center, included broadcasters who have made their mark in Syracuse radio:

  • Don Edwards - Named general manager of WSYR-FM (now WYYY) in 1975, Edwards got his start in broadcasting at WSYR TV in 1956. In 1986, after 30 years in the local media, Edwards joined the faculty of the broadcast journalism department at S.U. where he served as its chairman from 1987 until his retirement in 1999.
  • Jack Morse - Known primarily for his television sports broadcasting including stints at WTVH 5, WIXT 9, and Time Warner 13, Jack Morse began his professional radio career during his senior year in high school at WINR in Binghamton. While at Syracuse University in the late 1950's, Morse worked part-time at WOLF and then at WHEN. Trivia buffs will note that in February 1963 Morse did the final broadcast from WHEN's studios at the Syracuse Loew's Building and the station's first broadcast from new studios at 980 James Street the next day. Jack is now paired with market veteran Phil Markert weekday mornings on WTLA/WSGO.
  • Art Peterson - Beginning in 1954, Peterson spent 22 years at WFBL AM, much of that time as the station's news director. After joining Legacy in 1976, he gained national exposure in 1983 when he broke a story critical of the drug Zomax. That story led to a congressional investigation and the eventual banning of the drug which had sales of $46 million annually at the time.

Also inducted this year were Nevart Apikian of the Syracuse Post-Standard, the late Roy Gallinger of the Marcellus Observer and Herald-Journal, Veronica Schwartz, photographer for the Syracuse Newspapers, and Karel "Bud" Venderveer, who spent nearly 50 years at the Syracuse Herald-Journal.

See more posts about:


menu-circlecross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram