Morning Broadcasters Named "Best of Syracuse"

September 26, 2012 by

SYRACUSE -- The competition to be named among the "Best of Syracuse" was considerably intense for local broadcasters this year.  For whatever reason, the Syracuse New Times drastically cut back on the number of broadcast-related categories for its annual contest.  This year's awards, based on reader-submitted votes, include only one category each for TV and radio.

CNY Central's Lisa Spitz, recently-crowned morning news anchor for NBC 3 (WSTM), was named "Best TV Personality."

And the award for "Best Radio Personality" went to Hunter Scott and Josh Grosvent, hosts of "The Show," weekday mornings on rocker 95X (WAQX).

By contrast, last year's "Best of Syracuse" awards included more media-related catgories, such as male and female winners for "Best TV News Hottie" (Chris Brandolino and Kaylea Nixon), "Best Accurate Meteorologist" (Wayne Mahar), "Best Radio Station" (93Q - WNTQ), and "Best Local Morning Radio Show" (Ted and Amy from 93Q).

Last year's awards issue also included a feature titled "Best News Station to Weigh Anchor," profiling how Chris Brandolino, Keith Kobland and Tammy Palmer all found their way to NewsChannel 9 (WSYR-TV) after previously working at different TV stations in the market.

In fairness, the "Media" section of this year's awards also include "Best Blog," which, for the past few years, went to Matt's Memo, by CNY Central's Matt Mulcahy.  This year's "Best Blog" award went to, which is not affiliated with any other broadcast outlet.

The New Times is available for free at dozens of locations in and around Syracuse.  You'll find this year's media award winners on page 29.  If you’re a Syracuse escapee, you can view a digital version at


menu-circlecross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram