WRVO Hauls and TV Falls at New York AP Awards

June 6, 2011 by

SARATOGA -- With nine first-place awards, Oswego-based NPR affiliate WRVO was the big winner among radio stations -- both locally and statewide -- at the New York State Associated Press Broadcast Association Awards over the weekend.  On the other hand, all but two of the nominations for local TV stations did not materialize into first-place awards.

For winning more first place awards than any other radio station, WRVO took home the NYSAPBA's Steve Flanders Award, which, the Associated Press says, is "given to the radio station with the most top finishes in the competition for news stories aired during the previous calendar year."

Back in April, we reported the list of local nominations here, so here are the results from the NYSAPBA annual awards banquet in Saratoga Springs on Saturday night.  (Awards and categories that don't involve any stations within the coverage area are omitted.)  Radio tops the list, television's further down this page.

Radio: Class 3

WRVO was the only station in the coverage area to receive any nominations.

Category 2: Best News Special/Documentary

  • First Place: WRVO's Community Forum - Helping Veterans -- WRVO Staff
  • Special Mention: WRVO's Election Coverage -- News Staff
Category 3: Best News Series
  • First Place: The Innovation Trail -- Ryan Morden
  • Special Mention: Global to Local: Immigration and Diaspora -- Mark Lavonier, Jessica Hester
Category 4: Best Interview
  • First Place: Conversation With a Rape Survivor -- Jasmyn Belcher
Category 5: Best Spot News Coverage
  • First Place: Palmero Tornado --Dave Bullard
  • Special Mention: Rest stop closure--Joyce Gramza
  • Special Mention also went to Emma Jacobs for a report she filed for WSKG/Binghamton; Jacobs has since joined the WRVO staff.
Category 6: Best Continuing News Coverage
  • First Place: Fort Ontario Stays Quiet--Dave Bullard
  • Special Mention: To be a Muslim in Central New York--Michael Benjamin
  • Another Special Mention went to Emma Jacobs for work filed at WSKG.
Category 7: Best Enterprise Reporting
  • First Place: Customers Question Energy Supplier's Marketing Tactics--Jasmyn Belcher

Category 8: Best Feature
  • First Place: New York’s Last Pheasant Farm--Joyce Gramza
  • Special Mention: Living with Alzheimer’s disease--Jasmyn Belcher
  • Special Mentions were also awarded for two separate Emma Jacobs pieces.

Category 9: Best Sports Coverage

  • First Place: Fighting New York’s Mixed Martial Arts Ban--Jasmyn Belcher
  • Special Mention: Health Risks of Eating Too Many Local Fish--Jasmyn Belcher

Category 11: General excellence in use of medium

  • First Place: New York's Last Pheasant Farm--Joyce Gramza
  • Special Mention: Fighting NY’s Mixed Martial Arts Ban --Jasmyn Belcher

Television Categories

For television stations within the coverage area, here are the results:

Category 1: Best Regularly Scheduled Local News Program

For this category, stations are only allowed to submit newscasts which aired during one of two randomly-selected AP "Contest Days" during 2010.  The dates are not announced to stations until the morning-of; the idea is to evaluate stations on an "average" day where they have little opportunity to plan anything extraordinary for the contest.  For 2010, the contest days were October 20 and November 18.

  • First Place: WIVB/Buffalo, 11pm, November 18 -- News staff.
  • Special Mention: WSYR/Syracuse, Eleven @ 11:00, November 18 -- News staff
Category 2: Best News Special/Documentary
Category 3: Best News Series
  • First Place: WGRZ/Buffalo.
  • Special Mention: WSYR/Syracuse: Molly--Racquel Asa
Category 5: Best Spot News Coverage
  • First Place: WIVB/Buffalo
  • Special Mention: WSYR/Syracuse: Marsellus Casket Fire -- News Staff
Category 9: Best Sports Coverage
  • First Place: WHAM-TV/Rochester
  • Special Mention: WSTM/Syracuse: New Sounds, New Sport -- Brian Mueller
Category 12: Best Website
  • Class 2 - Buffalo, Rochester, Syracuse and the Capital District
    • First Place: WGRZ.COM / Buffalo
    • Special Mention: WSTM/Syracuse:
    • Special Mention: WXXI/Rochester [for, a partnership between WXXI, WRVO and a handful of other public stations throughout New York]
  • Class 3 - All other communities except NYC and Class 2 areas
    • First Place: WKTV/Utica: -- News Staff

Other Notable Items

The keynote speech at the dinner was given by Jeff Glor, news anchor for The Early Show on CBS.  Glor is a Syracuse University graduate who started his career at Syracuse's WSTM.

Reporter Andrew Siff won first place for "Best Feature" in the Class 1 (New York City) television awards, for a piece called "The Gift of Healing" he and photographer Michael DelGiudice produced for WNBC-TV.  The pair also won first place in the "Best Sports Coverage" category for a story called "Absolutely No Prayer."  An observant / reader reminds us Siff worked for Syracuse's WTVH in the early 1990s.

And the Bill Leaf Memorial Award for Best Regularly Scheduled Local [College Radio] News Program went to WRHU at Hofstra University -- two newscasts submitted by the same team of students were the only nominees in the category.  In the end, their March 25th newscast took first place over the March 16th newscast.  The award is named after Bill Leaf, a graduate of Henniger High School and Syracuse University, who was killed in a head-on crash with a wrong-way drunk driver in 2006.  Leaf had been working as a reporter for WSYR radio and a backup sports anchor for WTVH.  An annual kickball tournament raises money for a college scholarship in Bill's memory.

Our thanks to a / reader for passing along the complete list of award winners.


menu-circlecross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram